Home > Uncategorized > The 2016 TaG Award: The Shortlist

The 2016 TaG Award: The Shortlist

September 28, 2016

I’m running massively late with this, but at last I would like to announce the shortlist for this year’s Training a Gamer Award (formerly the Golden Thingummy).

In case you haven’t been reading this blog in previous years, each summer Miss B and I choose a set of four games (Miss B chooses two and I choose two more) that we enjoy and want to play a bit more.  These games are paired off so we can have two “game-offs”, playing a pair of games in one session so we can decide which we enjoyed most on that occasion.  The winners of each heat become the finalists for one more game-off to decide which will win the prestigious and sought-after TaG Award.

Last year was won by flicktastic dungeon crawler Catacombs.  What will get the laurels this year?

100_2155

Miss B seems to be better at photography than me. Not difficult.

Miss B’s first choice was instant, the game of contortions, In a Bind, which she introduces to friends and visitors whenever she can.  Her second choice surprised me a little as it is something we haven’t played for quite a long time, but she really fancied breaking out Dragonheart, which we used to play a fair bit a few years ago.

I added recent favourite Apotheca to the list as I think it deserves a few more plays and is probably at its best with two players.  My second game is one that we haven’t covered here before, but Miss B did express interest in while we were discussing the award: a cute card game called Murder of Crows.

So we have four contenders, two new and two not so much.  Coming soon: the game-offs.

  1. October 2, 2016 at 4:54 pm

    Go team In A Bind probably because it’s the only one I’ve played

    • October 2, 2016 at 8:35 pm

      Thanks, Waterlily! 😀

      (I’m also clearly biased. :-p)

    • Rob
      October 2, 2016 at 8:39 pm

      Wow, In A Bind is the first game in the awards that has had a support team! That’s really cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
