Home > Games > What was on the table in August?

What was on the table in August?

September 4, 2016

We did pretty well for games in August, with a games afternoon with another family as well as a couple of father-daughter games afternoons throughout the month.  We even got started (a little late) on this year’s Training a Gamer Award, so you can expect the reports for that to be forthcoming over the next few weeks.

100_2153

We had a really fun game of Railways of the World when one of Miss B’s schoolmates came to stay over.  Looking forward to trying that again.

Our total for the month  was 28 plays, with 15 different games.  This is well down on last August, but only beaten by two months this year.  We had several games with multiple plays, top of which was In a Bind, with 6 plays, followed by Apotheca, Hey That’s My Fish, and Yardmaster Express, with 3 plays a piece, and 6 and Win Lose Banana each on 2.  That latter game (WLB)  is a bit bizarre (to say the least), requiring exactly three players and being a game that seems entirely random at first, but then turns into a game of psychology after a few rounds.

I think my highlight of the month was trying out Railways of the World, which I had been wanting to play for some time and then managed to acquire a copy on the cheap, then had a great opportunity to play it when we had a visitor over.  We made a couple of minor tweaks to the rules to make it a little more accessible for a first play with kids, but after the rules explanation, the game flowed really well and we all enjoyed it very much.

For the year, BraveRats maintains its lead position with 11 plays, followed by Push It with 10, both unchanged from the previous month.  But now we have 6 and In a Bind, right in the chase, each with 9 plays, so it looks like the race is well and truly on at the moment.  There is nothing else we have played more than 5 times so far yet this year.

Categories: Games Tags: ,
  1. Dan
    September 4, 2016 at 10:04 pm

    Railways of the World is one of my favourite games, so simple, but so many things to think about.

    • Rob
      September 5, 2016 at 7:43 am

      🙂 I had been hearing reports like that from many different sources (including you, I think) for some time, so I had to give it a try some time. Only tried the Mexico map so far, but there will be more plays…

  2. Barnetto
    September 5, 2016 at 10:04 am

    I’ve played the big map a couple of times at the club with 5 or 6 and it is a fine game. Have been tempted to get it but not sure the kids would have the patience to play such a long game at home! (We are pretty much all about shorter card games at home now sadly.)

    New Big Thing in family gaming for us was (the short card game) Broom Service: The Card Game which we took on holiday and both boys (and Mum even!) enjoyed. Managed 11 plays of it so far which is usually about the burn-out point for us! A lot less to this one that other Mr Pfitzer card games (Port Royal and Royal Goods, which are both better) but it is fast and fun.

    • Rob
      September 5, 2016 at 11:39 am

      We’ve played Broom Service CG a couple of times and like it so far, so it’ll be coming out some more, I’m sure. It seems a load slicker and less fussy to me than my dim recollections of Witch’s Brew, which I played once a few years ago. Not played the Broom Service board game yet.

  3. September 8, 2016 at 11:01 am

    I can’t understand how you could have played only 2 games of WLB! Do you could each time you play as a single game, regardless of how many times you actually play?

    I thought the official rule was just to play one game, but that playing multiple games was either down to preference or houserulings.

    Personally, I like to roll a die, or dice after each game. If someone has scored as many points as the number you roll, the set of games stops and they win. Currently of the mind that 1d6+1D20 works well. 😉

    Happy you’re continuing to enjoy IAB. 🙂

    I don’t know 6. Will need to check it out.

    • Rob
      September 8, 2016 at 11:43 am

      It’s OK, I was counting several rounds of WLB as a single play. 🙂

      6 is a great example of different ways of using dice, and is a collaboration between Andy Hopwood, Greg Carslaw and John-Paul Treen, so you know it has to be good, right?

      • September 8, 2016 at 12:08 pm

        Oh, I’m ashamed that I didn’t remember the name. I’m not the best at names. 😦

        I played it at UKGE 2015 and got a free copy soon after, as I actually submitted something to JP Treen for that, inspired by Tim. I don’t actually know where my tin is. 😦

        Yes, it is fantastic and was an inspiration for Wibbell++ in how well they write the rules on a single card. Brilliant writing/editing! The games are fun too, of course!

        • Rob
          September 8, 2016 at 12:14 pm

          🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
