Home > Monthly Gaming > What was on the table in May?

What was on the table in May?

June 20, 2016

Oops! I was late last month, and even worse this time around.  Must do better.

Anyway, Miss B and I played 14 different games in May, with a total of 20 plays, so our least gamey month so far this year in both respects.  But one of those games was the enormous Runebound, which we played across two days, so that makes up for it quite a lot.

100_2119

See? Runebound! 2nd edition works just fine for us, and I don’t feel a need to get 3rd yet.

Our multiple played games were 6, Murder of Crows, The Metagame (playing in “Timelines” style), and Treasures of Atlantis (one of my own designs and still a work in progress), all on two plays a piece, and former favourite Sleeping Queens, back from the Twilight Zone with three plays.

That leaves our annual totals with BraveRats steady on six plays, 6 on seven plays, and our first game to get into double figures this year, Push It on ten plays.

So we’ve been slowing down a bit, but the games come out from time to time and they are still fun.  We are still getting some new games in as well (see The Metagame and Murder of Crows above), so there may well be some more write-ups coming.  Right now it’s all about going with the flow.

 

 

Categories: Monthly Gaming Tags:
  1. Barnetto
    June 21, 2016 at 9:08 am

    Ahhhh, Runebound 2nd Edition (and several of its once high value expansions) sit in a cupboard above my wardrobe unused. Will they ever see the light of day?

    My most recent family game purchase was the dice rolling extravaganza that is Favor of the Pharaoh – a remake of To Court A King but with lots more bells and whistles and variability (To Court A King is on Yucata – have you played it?) This was very successful early doors (as the ubiquitous football pundit might say – I have been watching too much football!), but has since lost out to my younger son’s sudden and all consuming passion with all things football. If it does not involve football, he is no longer interested!

    We have played it 13 times so far in fact (it is a 20 minute game). In our 2 player head to head games (12 of them) my son has won all of them! Granted I let him go first every time and I don’t take the compensation for going second (a reroll or +1 chit), but still, statistically that is pretty significant! Either that chit is super necessary to help the second player OR, more likely, I am just rubbish at rolling dice….

    If I sound a little grumpy, that is because I am! Not only did I miss my adult gaming evening last night to watch England frustrated for 90 minutes by a defensive Slovak team, but, to make matters worse, England finishing 2nd in the group means that their last 16 game is also on a Monday evening (next week) meaning another evening of anguish on the sofa rather than out getting my fix (and it is a bit like that when I’m not getting gaming from other sources) of boardgames next week too!

    And to top it all, now that my younger son seems to have lost interest in playing games (at least temporarily), I now know what it feels like to be a football widow…

    • Rob
      June 21, 2016 at 8:13 pm

      I feel your pain! Not regarding the football, but the other stuff. Though we’ve been trying to schedule our next Pandemic Legacy session and this all largely depends on when various teams’ next couple of matches are. It’ll soon be over!

      I haven’t tried To Court A King, but it’s about time I learnt a new game on Yucata, so maybe I’ll give it a go. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
