Home > Monthly Gaming > Our month in gaming: November

Our month in gaming: November

December 5, 2015

November was a quieter month for games, and was a bit on the lumpy side: our plays were mostly on a small number of days when we played several games. We had a total of 21 plays of 16 different titles.

We played a game with lasers and mirrors. There might even be a write-up of this one day...

We played a game with lasers and mirrors. There might even be a write-up of this one day…


Our top game of the month was Battleship, yes, the old pencil and paper game of systematic guesswork and calling out coordinates, which we played on actual pencil and paper three times. We also had two plays each of A Piece O’ Cake, Lava Dragon, and new-from-Kickstarter dexterity game, Push It.

All this leaves the annual totals exactly as they were this time last month, with 6 leading the way on 19 plays and Yardmaster Express on 16. Timeline and Backgammon are both still on 11 plays, and Love Letter, Dobble and Boggle Slam are all sitting there on 10. So it looks very much like 6 will be our game of the year, but Yardmaster Express has an outside chance of overtaking. Unless we have something like an insane day of playing Dobble repeatedly (which is not impossible), it’s unlikely anything else will get close. We’ll see soon enough.

As for the 10×10 challenge, it is looking extremely unlikely that we will complete the planned plays. Miss B has gone off some of the games that she originally chose, and it really isn’t worth pushing the issue too hard. We may get one or two more of the games getting to their 10 plays though (Plyt and Apples to Apples are extremely likely — with the latter almost certain to get some plays over Christmas).

For the sake of completeness, our current status is as follows:

Game Plays so far
Dobble 10
Plyt 9
Love Letter 10
Empire Express 8
Apples to Apples 9
Piece o’ Cake 7
Gubs 6
Heckmeck am Bratwurmeck 7
Dungeon Roll 4
Timeline 10
Backgammon 10
Categories: Monthly Gaming Tags:
  1. Barnetto
    December 8, 2015 at 11:49 am

    I love the way you are going all “left field” with your family gaming, even if it makes me feel terribly conservative and mainstream!

    7 Wonders Duel has been a big hit and was played 5 times in November. This along with a resurgence in the excellent push your luck but with a big dollop of strategy Port Royal (also on 5 plays in November) are highly recommended by me.

    In the next level were two birthday games received by my son. Sapiens, a present from me and a clever twist on dominoes has been played three times so far and Star Wars Monopoly has been played twice (by me, the boys have played it themselves without me too).

    I think it is well known by now among his friends that Sam loves boardgames and so he gets quite a few bought for him as presents. Unfortunately, these tend to be the ones in the high street (eg Cluedo Junior and Star Wars Monopoly) at which my heart sinks. To be fair, the Star Wars Monopoly that Sam was bought is a very quick playing version – but quite apart from how almost totally luck dependent it is, I was quite shocked at the quality (or lack of) of the production! Of course, one has to be very careful not to be disparaging of his presents and play them with him (whilst looking longingly across to my carefully chosen games shelf where much “better” options sit).

    And so it goes when you start to become a boardgame snob…. (maybe I have finally found a theme for a blog contribution…..).

    • Rob
      December 8, 2015 at 8:23 pm

      Left field?! πŸ˜€ I don’t think I’ve ever been accused of having anything to do with that before!

      I really like Port Royal, but prefer it with 4 or 5 players and opportunities are few and far between. Maybe I should push it more often.

      Boardgame snobbery sounds like a great topic for discussion. I must admit I catch myself getting a bit sneery sometimes over “classic” games, but I think I’m getting a little better with it. A little.

  2. April 1, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    Push It ideal game!

    • Rob
      April 3, 2016 at 9:29 pm

      Definitely. I might even have to get a spare set! πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
