Home > Monthly Gaming > Our month in gaming: September

Our month in gaming: September

October 5, 2015

September was a much quieter month for gaming than we have had for a long time, with Miss B largely wanting to be doing other things lately, mostly either reading or playing with the vast stash of Zhu Zhu Hamsters (plus accessories) that she blew a chunk of her savings on when we found them in a local charity shop. It has to be said that it was a fantastic value purchase, but it means that the conservatory is now overrun by small, furry, motorized toys with squeaky voices.

It may not look like it, but this is mammoth racing for the September 24 hour game design contest.

It may not look like it, but this is mammoth racing for the September 24 hour game design contest.

Anyway, the score for September was 22 plays of 14 distinct games, though some might consider we cheated a bit because several of those plays were of a couple of prototype games that I have been working on. They’re still games though, so I reckon they count. The most played game of the month, in fact, was one of these prototypes: I Know An Old Woman, which is a contender in the Children’s Game Design Contest on BGG (if you want to see what’s up, the entry thread, including downloadable and printable materials is here), with 5 plays. Timeline (General Interest) had a respectable 3 plays, and Loopin’ Louie and Yahtzee had 2 each.

Yahtzee has been a new introduction, after Miss B played it on a website that she had to visit to do maths homework, and then I pointed out that I could download and print some score sheets and, of course, we have plenty of dice around here. So far she’s been showing a much better aptitude (plus uncanny luck) for the game than I have.

All this doesn’t affect the year’s top games by much, though it does bring Timeline into double figures. We still have ‘6’ in the lead with 17 plays, closely followed by Yardmaster Express with 16. Backgammon and Timeline are on 11 plays and Dobble is still on 10.

As for the 10×10 challenge, we haven’t been doing so well, and Miss B has been losing enthusiasm for the enterprise, so it is looking increasingly unlikely that we will get there. Mind you, we only have 24 plays left to go, with 3 months in hand, so with a bit of a tail wind, 8 plays a month is entirely possible. This could go to the wire…

Game Plays so far
Dobble 10
Plyt 7
Love Letter 9
Empire Express 6
Apples to Apples 8
Piece o’ Cake 5
Gubs 6
Heckmeck am Bratwurmeck 6
Dungeon Roll 4
Timeline 10
Backgammon 10
Categories: Monthly Gaming Tags:
  1. Barnetto
    October 6, 2015 at 12:59 pm

    Interesting to see you getting into game design – I’m not an “ideas” person myself, so doubt I could come up with something sufficiently original!

    A couple of card games were top of our “monthly order” (a phrase which still sends shivers down my spine from my grammar school days!). Monopoly Deal and Port Royal both managed 3 plays. Behind that the beautiful to look at Asara and the ugly to look at Guildhall had 2 plays each, along with Splendor and Scallywags.

    Always fun Augustus, Catacombs (I relented, knees creaking), Fantastiqa, Machi Koro, Nations the Dice Game, Patchwork, Sushi Go, Via Appia and Villagers & Villains all saw the light of day for a play each.

    From an adult perspective, I’m in an Uwe Rosenberg appreciation phase. I love playing Gates of Loyang on Yucata and my weekly gaming group has been playing a lot of La Granja (which is in part inspired by that game). I’ve also tried out (though only solo yet) Fields of Arle (a great sweep of a game that is perhaps best thought of as an experience rather than a competitive game) and the Farmers of the Moor expansion to Agricola (which seems to me a very interesting change-up affecting the strategies that normally are essential in Agricola). Other games I’ve been enjoying very much are Concordia (excited about the new Essen released expansion!) and Tzolkin (a fine game, where again the expansion does a good job to change up the tried and tested).

    And my recent Kickstarter hiatus may be coming to an end with the (surprisingly expensive) 7th Continent campaign…

  2. Rob
    October 6, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    Regarding game design, I’m not that great at original ideas either, but I figure that if I keep working at it, the “idea muscles” should get stronger, plus an ordinary idea may turn into something really interesting based on how things develop later. It’s a fun hobby though. If you are interested, I’ve been blogging about game design too: http://firsttakesomedice.blogspot.co.uk/

    I’ve not played many Rosenberg games (I seem to be the only gamer who has never played Agricola!) but Bohnanza is a huge favourite that I should try to get to the table more often.

    I had my first play of Concordia a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it. It’s right up my ally with the not-too-complicated mechanics that flow nicely but provide pretty decent levels of depth and opportunity for different styles of play. It went straight onto my wishlist, so maybe one day I’ll get my own copy.

    Not entirely convinced by 7th Continent… It looks cool, but just doesn’t convince me enough, certainly at that price point. I look forward to seeing how it develops though — maybe you can report back!

  3. October 7, 2015 at 9:48 pm

    Will definitely take a look at your design blog!

    Well if you fancy playing Concordia an BAJ, let me know…

    I know what you mean about 7th Continent – it’s expensive for sure! But it does seem very innovative and a lot of love appears to have gone into it from the designers. And it is true that nearly every card requires different art (compared to a Dominion for example). Whether it actually works as a decent game is another matter and where the big question lies…

    • Rob
      October 7, 2015 at 10:19 pm

      I didn’t know about BAJ before you mentioned it. Seems my Google Fu is mighty today. Dare I sign up there as well as Yucata?!

      And yeah, I can’t deny that 7th Continent appears to have had a lot of time, money and love spent in its creation.

  4. October 7, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    I know! There is Trajan, Concordia, Tzolkin, Agricola, Deus on there! But that way danger lies…..!

  5. October 24, 2015 at 12:46 pm

    Pass on to Miss B – How come you get fun homework? But still a lot of games.

    • Rob
      October 24, 2015 at 1:41 pm

      Miss B says: well, I do have to do the sums first! 🙂

      • October 27, 2015 at 3:05 pm

        Oh! I don’t have homework at Half Term!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
