Home > Monthly Gaming > Our month in gaming: August

Our month in gaming: August

September 8, 2015

August was an excellent month for gaming for us, though actually we didn’t do so well on the 10×10 challenge. But more on that later. The month saw a great games afternoon with friends, as well as a holiday to see the part of the family in Ireland, meaning that we got to play a couple of games on a ferry, which is good for novelty.

Competition in backgammon can get very fierce around here.

Competition in backgammon can get very fierce around here.

As you have probably seen, we also began this year’s TaG Award process, but unfortunately we’ve been a bit slack about progressing the contest. Hopefully we’ll get to have the Catacombs vs Lift Off! session to determine the second finalist very soon…

The headline numbers for August are that we played 25 different games, for a total of 39 plays. Our top game for the month was actually Boggle Slam!, with 5 plays (which reminds me that we haven’t done a write-up on that yet), followed closely by 6, with 4 plays, Te Kuiti with 3, and on 2 plays each there were Apples to Apples, Citadels (awesome to have this back from the wasteland), EcoFluxx, Magic The Gathering, and The Hare and the Tortoise. A good spread of multiple plays there, I reckon.

So that leaves our leader board for the year so far with 6 finally taking the lead with 17 plays, overhauling Yardmaster Express, still on 16, then Backgammon on 11 and last year’s winner Dobble on 10. All of these games have been played more times than anything was played last year, and the total games we have played so far this year has flown past the 2014 total. 2015 is turning out to be a good year for us and games.

As for the 10×10 challenge, we fell back a little through August, only adding 6 plays to the tally. However, I make it that we need a minimum of 27 more plays to complete the challenge, which means about 6½ plays per month would get us there, so we are still in with a very good chance. Miss B has gone off the idea of the dice games (Heckmeck and Dungeon Roll) in particular lately, but we’ll see how things go.

Our current scores are as follows…

Game Plays so far
Dobble 10
Plyt 6
Love Letter 9
Empire Express 6
Apples to Apples 8
Piece o’ Cake 5
Gubs 6
Heckmeck am Bratwurmeck 5
Dungeon Roll 4
Timeline 8
Backgammon 10

(We have actually played an extra game of Backgammon, but it doesn’t count for the challenge.)

Categories: Monthly Gaming Tags:
  1. Barnetto
    September 9, 2015 at 10:47 am

    New game of the month for us turned out to be Uwe Rosenberg’s two player Patchwork – we amassed 7 plays all in a very short space of time (though none since then – we do seem to burn through a game and then discard it). I don’t quite know how but I have a record of 0-7 (wins-losses) against my children on this one, despite trying to win! It’s clever and quick and I would definitely recommend it. (I picked up the Czech version for less than £12 delivered!)

    Other than that, we managed to get in some plays of longer, bigger box games including 3 plays of the family friendly Camel [C]Up, three plays of Harbour, two of Zooloretto, two of Stone Age and two of San Juan.

    On an adult level, I discovered Yucata and BAJ in July and went a bit overboard in July and August with plays of Gates of Loyang, Castles of Burgundy, Trajan, Concordia, Tzolkin, Firenze, St Petersburg, Deus etc. It is all great fun, but I have had to stop myself as it was taking over!

  2. Rob
    September 9, 2015 at 11:15 am

    I’ve been thinking about Patchwork for a while, so maybe I should keep my eyes open for it. Sounds good.

    I’m also on Yucata, but have managed to get down to only playing a handful of games at the moment (I was on 20-30 most of the time a few months back). It seems an effective way to feed my Roll Through The Ages habit — though that’s more fun with actual dice! If you fancy a game of something, I’m ‘polyobsessive’ over there.

  3. September 20, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    Dad’s got Roll Through the ages. He gets a lot of disasters and workers. He doesn’t usually feed his people!

    • Rob
      September 20, 2015 at 8:12 pm

      I must admit that when I play it, I keep having starving people. I think they get a bit cross. Do you play it too?

      • September 27, 2015 at 3:18 pm

        Yes I play it. But I’m no good apart from getting loads of skulls! I always buy portection stuff!

        • Rob
          September 27, 2015 at 8:23 pm

          Well, at least lots of skulls means lots of goods being produced. 🙂

  1. September 19, 2015 at 6:17 pm
Comments are closed.
