Home > Monthly Gaming > Our month in gaming: July

Our month in gaming: July

August 4, 2015

July was a pretty good month for gaming, helped along a bit by the arrival of GanCan’t, the Internet “unconvention” for those who can’t attend the enormous GenCon in the USA. This was a great excuse for us to wear fake convention badges and play a load of games.

GenCan't took place in a few venues around here, including this coffee shop.

GenCan’t took place in a few venues around here, including this coffee shop.

So the headline figures are that we had 32 plays of 19 distinct games, so almost the same as June, and a whole heap more than last year. The top game for the month was Love Letter which, after not much play for the first half of the year, suddenly came back into favour with 4 plays; I think that some of this was due to Miss B finding the massively unofficial Dad’s Army Love Letter set that I have lying around (even though she has never seen the TV show). Following up on 3 plays each there was 6, Boggle Slam, Yardmaster Express and a prototype for my entry to the July 24 hour game design contest. Balanx and new Best Thing Evvarrr, Catacombs, had 2 plays a piece.

For the year’s totals, that leaves Yardmaster Express the leader with 16 plays, followed by Dicey-come-lately 6, with an impressive 13 plays. Dobble and Backgammon have now made double figures at 10 plays each but, having hit their targets for the 10×10 challenge, will they do any more? Love Letter and Timeline are next in line with 8 plays.

Having covered the main numbers for the month, I just wanted to relate another story from this month. We were well into a game of Empire Express, and I was looking at cards while Miss B took her turn when I heard her saying: “One, two, okay! *giggle*”

“What did you do?” I asked. She pointed at the board, where she had added track out of a city to connect up to my incoming track, meaning that if I wanted to connect to the city (which I did), I would have to build a detour in order to enter on the other side, or pay her 4 megabucks to use her track every time I wanted to go there. She had spiked the city most effectively. “Really?” I said, completely astounded at what had just happened.

“Nah,” she said, “Only joking!”

“No, it’s okay, it’s a fair move and you can do it if you want.”

“Nah.” And with that she rubbed out her new bit of track and got on with her turn.

Wow, that was quite something. Miss B was able to spot a really cool move that might have changed the result of the game, but didn’t want to go through with it because she didn’t want the game to go that way. I would have been very happy if she went through with it, but it’s lovely that she isn’t wanting to win at all costs. I don’t know if she meant to take the move back all along or she saw my shock and surprise (which I really must learn to hide better) and changed her mind, but this is a definite sign that she is now starting to look for, and spot, deeper possibilities in a game board.

Then a few days later she kicked my butt in Mijnlieff, followed by two consecutive games of Balanx, showing that she really is starting to get the hang of some of these games and I am now having to really pay attention. The days of me winning easily are over, and I couldn’t be happier.

And finally, just to finish off, we have the 10×10 challenge status, where we are making solid progress once again, with another game hitting the target, and only really a couple of games struggling (though still moving along)…

Game Plays so far
Dobble 10
Plyt 5
Love Letter 8
Empire Express 5
Apples to Apples 6
Piece o’ Cake 4
Gubs 6
Heckmeck am Bratwurmeck 5
Dungeon Roll 4
Timeline 8
Backgammon 10

I think we may actually get there…

Categories: Monthly Gaming Tags:
  1. August 4, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    Glad to see the Dads Army love letter getting some use 🙂

    • Rob
      August 5, 2015 at 7:47 am

      Absolutely. She loves reading the quotes out. Then, of course, I have to explain them. I think I’ll just have to show her an episode or two and see how that goes.

  2. Barnetto
    August 5, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    Where did you get the Dad’s Army love letter from (unofficially)?

    A one week holiday saw us get through some smaller games: new to the table Monopoly Deal come top with 7 plays, closely followed by Oddball Aeronauts with 6 (no need for table space so you can play on the plane!)

    Chess was next with 5 games as there was a copy lying around the pool and my 9 year old (briefly?) got into it. He did in fact beat me in one game – the last! Normally I take pleasure/pride when losing games to my boys, but not with chess! Not when you can see that you lost through a totally crap move when you weren’t concentrating 100%!

    Feld’s Arena: Roma received 3 plays as did the excellent little worker placement package Harbour.

    Nice story btw – my son would not have been so considerate if he had spotted the move – however, I would have avoided such a move at all costs if I’d spotted it to prevent the tears!

    Sounds like you and Miss B are turning into the UK’s own version of the famously spite averse Rahdo…!

    • Rob
      August 5, 2015 at 1:27 pm

      I’m not sure we (or the world) are ready for “Miss B Runs Through” quite yet. 😀

      We got the Dad’s Army Love Letter (unofficially) from ArtsCow after someone who has been known to post on this blog (unofficially) created the cards and made them available there. I seem to have lost the link, I’m afraid.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
