Home > Monthly Gaming > Our month in gaming: June

Our month in gaming: June

July 1, 2015

After the awesome gaming in May, June was still good, with 34 plays of 19 different games. That sounds like a lot more multiple plays than usual (and, to be fair, it was better than many months in that respect) but the figures were rather skewed by the fact that 9 of the plays were of the little tin of dice that is “6”. Apart from that we had 3 plays of Dobble, taking us up to our scheduled 10 for the year (I’m sure there will be more!), and 2 each for Backgammon, Dino Hunt Dice, EcoFluxx, Loopin’ Louie, and a prototype of a game I threw together for a contest on BoardGameGeek.

Nice to get the "special" chess set out once in a while.

Nice to get the “special” Chess set out once in a while.

EcoFluxx’s plays were both in a coffee shop while we were out and about, as it happened to be the game that I had thrown in the bag, “just in case” (I usually have a game or two with me).

We had a few games too thanks to a visit from one of Miss B’s school friends, who went on to rule the roost at Loopin’ Louie, which is always good for a laugh.

Oh, and Miss B has been reading her Chess book a bit lately, so we got a chess set out for a play. We settled on me having a 2 rook handicap, which wasn’t enough to make it too difficult for me, but she’s definitely getting a lot better at spotting threats and possible attacks on her own, so I’m looking forward to that handicap getting reduced very soon.

So, for the year to date, Yardmaster Express still maintains its position at the front with 13 plays, despite not coming out during June. But the chasing group is getting close, with Dobble and newcomer “6” coming up fast on 10 plays, and Backgammon only just behind on 9. Loopin’ Louie is now alongside Timeline on 7, with Apples to Apples, Gubs and Rhino Hero on 6 plays. We should get a few more games to at least 10 plays thanks to the 10×10 challenge, but I wouldn’t be at all surprised if either Yardmaster Express or “6” took the crown despite not being on the list due to their fast, multiple-play appeal.

And thinking of the 10×10 challenge, we fell behind a bit in June, with only four of the games played during the month, but being half way through the year we have got through more than half of the necessary plays, so there is definitely hope. Our current status is:

Game Plays so far
Dobble 10
Plyt 4
Love Letter 4
Empire Express 4
Apples to Apples 6
Piece o’ Cake 3
Gubs 6
Heckmeck am Bratwurmeck 5
Dungeon Roll 3
Timeline 7
Backgammon 9

It’s nice to have one of the games complete and another really close. We just need to bring up some of those laggards…

Categories: Monthly Gaming Tags:
  1. Barnetto
    July 2, 2015 at 1:22 pm

    Cult of the new ruled the roost here. I enjoyed Nations last year when it was GOTM at my local games club, so I was keen to pick up Nations: The Dice Game when it came out in significant numbers recently. And it saw 12 plays in July already – though we may have burned out on it! It is a decent approximation of the mechanisms of Nations, distilled down, simplified and shortened and makes a really good family dice game.

    The other new offering coming in with 5 plays was Harbour. TMG’s small box worker placement with fun graphics and a really quite tricky game underlying it.

    Apart from that, there were a couple of outings of Augustus (always fun), Agricola All Creatures Big and Small (the one I can win!), Splendor (the one I can’t win!) and, encouragingly, my older son asked to play the truly excellent Keyflower a couple of times.

    Oh, and perhaps the most notable gaming happening in July – for the first time ever, one of us managed to collect four of Tutankhamun’s masks in Archaeology (my 7 year old son – though he still lost!).

    Keep up the good work.

    • Rob
      July 2, 2015 at 3:26 pm

      I’ve only had a solo play of Harbour so far. Really must get it played for real soon as it seems very nice.

      Four TutMasks in Archaeology?! I don’t think I’ve had the nerve to go for that, so congratulations to your son! Do you find that the table ends up getting really cluttered with all the stuff lost to sand storms?

      • Barnetto
        July 2, 2015 at 3:36 pm

        Both my sons have enjoyed Harbour, so definitely give it a go – it is fine 2 player – I tend to leave out most of the cards that allow you to mess with the market too much when I play with the boys as it can be quite frustrating!

        Indeed, the sandstorms do tend to reek havoc – though I hoover up all those pot shards etc! I never quite lived down the time I advised my other son, who was sitting with three TutMasks, to cash them in just in case there was a sandstorm – there wasn’t and he drew the fourth on his next turn! This time the younger son picked two up from raiding the pyramid and assembled the foursome from the market out of his ill gained wealth…. in the same game I cashed in four Talismans only to draw a fifth next turn!

        • Rob
          July 2, 2015 at 4:00 pm

          🙂 I think the sandstorms are the little stroke of genius in Archaeology, adding a push-your-luck element to what would otherwise be dry set collection. Good game.

          • Barnetto
            July 2, 2015 at 4:06 pm

            Yes, it is one of the few my wife will play with us all – though generally I now play two player games with one or other of my sons – it all gets too fraught if they compete against each other! I think my favourite of that short set collecting card game is actually Jaipur, with its difficult decisions over when to take the camels from the middle…

            (Though with Archaeology we did house rule that the person drawing a sandstorm gets to draw another card afterwards – it just seemed a bit unfair that you got nothing at all from your card draw.)

          • Rob
            July 2, 2015 at 8:30 pm

            Totally agree about Jaipur, though my wife seems to prefer Archaeology. And that sandstorm house rule sounds a good one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
