Home > Monthly Gaming > Our month in gaming: May

Our month in gaming: May

June 2, 2015

May was a good game for games, and finished off with a bang as we went to UK Games Expo, where Miss B spent her usual couple of hours playing roleplaying games in the family zone, and also spent some time exploring a few of the games available in the family games library provided by Imagination Gaming.

Miss B thinking hard about her next move in the Peter Pan inspired RPG for kids.

Miss B thinking hard about her next move in the Peter Pan inspired RPG for kids.

So how good was the month? Well, we managed an impressive 40 plays together, from a total of 29 different titles, which is the best score for variety that we have ever recorded. We even did well in the 10×10 challenge — but more on that later.

We played Balanx and Yardmaster Express 3 times each, with Backgammon, Ingenious, Lift Off!, Pick-Up Sticks, Plyt, Quoridor, and Timeline (the General Interest set) each getting 2 plays a piece.

So for the annual totals, that reinforces Yardmaster Express in its strong lead, now amassing 13 plays, well ahead of Backgammon and Dobble on 7, and Apples to Apples, Rhino Hero and Timeline played 6 times. Still a long way to go, but I’m sure Yardmaster Express will get at least a few more plays this year, so it’s looking unlikely that it will get caught, but you never know.

As for the 10×10 challenge, we played all of our nominated 11 games at least once, and as you can see from the above, we played three of the games twice, meaning that our chart is looking pretty good now:

Game Plays so far
Dobble 7
Plyt 4
Love Letter 4
Empire Express 4
Apples to Apples 6
Piece o’ Cake 3
Gubs 5
Heckmeck am Bratwurmeck 5
Dungeon Roll 3
Timeline 6
Backgammon 7

So that means that for our lowest scoring games we still only need to average one play per month and we’ll get there. And we even have two games that only need three plays each to complete. I’m feeling a lot more confident about this than I was last month, but we’ll have to wait and see how things pan out.

Categories: Monthly Gaming Tags:
  1. Barnetto
    June 3, 2015 at 12:05 pm

    Very jealous that you went to the Expo – but I have a sneaky plan for next year – I will explain to my wife what a good opportunity to SELL games the Expo is and promise to come back with fewer than I take….

    We had another bumper month – thanks to the early May Bank Holiday, a week’s half term holiday and also some renewed interest from my 9 year old son in playing games.

    Surprisingly our most played game was that ultimate in pasted on themes game, Splendor, amassing 8 plays. It plays quickly and has that just one more game aspect. Also, and this is becoming more important for my enjoyment of the games, I don’t have to help either my 7 or 9 year old play this. I can just try and play the game to the best of my ability and not worry about what they are doing – they do just fine! In fact, the first couple of times I gave them a head start (a jewel card) and they utterly thrashed me! So more recently we’ve played it evenly (no starting advantage for them, other than going first). And still the winning ratio is in their favour – there is just something about the game that clicks with them better than it does for me – I think they are more aggressive going for the high point cards whilst I try to build up a tableau! And it is great that they are genuinely beating me at a “proper” game! I love that!

    Coming up fast is the TMG Kickstarter Harbour with 5 plays – my 9 year old in particular really enjoyed this – and again genuinely won in the second game – though I do have to point out possibilities sometimes. So my 7 year old also insisted in playing it too, though it takes a lot more explaining what the cards do. We have only played it two player – I fear for the 3 player experience! (I have just received Eminent Domain Microcosm which I’m looking forward to trying out too.)

    Augustus (4 plays and always good fun), Camel Cup (3, ditto) and Carcassonne The City (3) have all had regular outings. Forbidden Desert and Ticket to Ride: Europe have been played twice each and other big box games getting an airing have included Via Appia, Narnia Risk, Helios, Survive, Takenoko, DC Comics Deckbuilder, Among the Stars, Thebes Card Game, Kingdom Builder, Mice and Mystics and The Hobbit.

    By the way, I noticed that you too have fallen foul of the Mob Town Kickstarter debacle! Commiserations!

    • Rob
      June 3, 2015 at 2:43 pm

      Yes, Expo is definitely a very good place to get rid of games. Absolutely. I have personally got rid of nearly one game over the last few years and only acquired mumblemumble new ones.

      As for Mob Town… It could be worse, I only backed Mob Town at the lowest level and not any of the other projects from that company. I’ve sent a few more dollars into the ether in the hope that some friends in the US will appreciate a nice new card game.

      You’ve received EmDoMicro? Awesome, that suggests mine should be along really soon. Fingers crossed. I played an early prototype of it, which was a bit clunky but showed real promise.

      • Barnetto
        June 3, 2015 at 3:27 pm

        Yes, I received it only yesterday – the rules are “concise” to say the least – but I think it wil all make sense once we start playing it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
