Home > Monthly Gaming > Our month in gaming: March

Our month in gaming: March

April 8, 2015

Oh dear, this is all getting a bit late isn’t it? More than a week into April and still no monthly report. Well, things have been a bit chaotic lately; the extension to our house that I mentioned a few months back has now been completed and so we have been spending a lot of time assembling new furniture, moving stuff around, and so on. There is still a fair bit to do, but we are getting there. And on the plus side, the board games collection now has a new home.

Still a work in progress, but we now have somewhere new to store the games.  Soon it'll be somewhere we can play them too!

Still a work in progress, but we now have somewhere new to store the games. Soon it’ll be somewhere we can play them too!

Compared with the last couple of months, March was fairly light on the gaming, but we still managed to have 19 plays of 15 distinct titles, which is the same number of plays as March last year (and one fewer title).

In March we didn’t play anything more than twice, and the doubles were Backgammon, “Coin Football” (an old game I learnt at primary school using three coins on a table that I taught to Miss B), Heckmeck am Bratwurmeck, and Hey That’s My Fish! (the digital version).

So the leaderboard for the year has Yardmaster Express ahead with a solid 10 plays, followed by Rhino Hero and Dobble on 6, and Apples to Apples on 5.

We made some progress on the 10-by-10 challenge, but we have some games falling a little behind schedule. That said, we have 9 months left, so if everything gets one more play per month we will have aced it. The current number of plays for each of our 11 games (10 plus an alternate, remember) are as follows…

Game Plays so far
Dobble 6
Plyt 2
Love Letter 2
Empire Express 3
Apples to Apples 5
Piece o’ Cake 1
Gubs 3
Heckmeck am Bratwurmeck 3
Dungeon Roll 2
Timeline 4
Backgammon 4
Categories: Monthly Gaming Tags:
  1. fowlerj
    April 8, 2015 at 8:56 pm

    Nice set of shelves – exciting! I will show this to my wife…

    Is Miss B still onboard with the 10×10 – or is there any sign of interest fading?

  2. Rob
    April 8, 2015 at 9:08 pm

    I think she’s still keen to complete the challenge, though it’s clearly not as exciting as it was in January. We’ll just have to see how it goes, I think we still stand a very good chance.

  3. Barnetto
    April 10, 2015 at 9:53 am

    Fascinating to browse your shelves, Rob – lots to discuss – and obviously a very recent picture with Looking for Trobils there! Do be careful leaving that saw around though……

    I have several unopened Kickstarters around the house still, including Trobils (though it did only arrive last week). TBH I now see that some I’ve backed are actually pretty bland with not that much to recommend them compared to the properly developed and play-tested main publishing house games. I’m trying to avoid any more Kickstarting activity – not least as I need to sell before I acquire any more – though I do get drawn in by the beautiful art on some!

    Other Kickstarters that you have that I also have include Waggle Dance (played twice and this is OK) and Eight Minute Empire (though I got mine retail – again I quite like this – what is the Legends version like?). I see you also backed Ancient Worlds – I was tempted but resisted!

    But my main question is where on earth is Agricola in that picture?? (Tempted though I am to get into a discussion concerning grown-up gaming, I’ll stick to family gaming.)

    Our lead game for March was Forbidden Desert (which I received for my birthday last December and only just opened). It had 5 plays and will get some more as I prefer it to Forbidden Island (which isn’t to say I don’t like Forbidden Island) as it doesn’t have the set collecting element – I think the locating the bits of the machine on the tiles is a much stronger game element. I was certainly pleasantly surprised by this one.

    Other than that, it was lots of variety, including Machi Koro, Scallywags, The Hobbit Card game and Yardmaster Express all getting two games.

    “Big game” appearances included Zooloretto, Fauna, Fantastiqa, Kingdom Builder and Catacombs.

    Anyway, thanks for the update – and I will no doubt be returning to your fascinating picture with all sorts of “how does XX play with 7 year old” type questions……

    • Rob
      April 10, 2015 at 5:51 pm

      Good to hear from you! Yup, the Kickstarter lottery is an interesting one. You sometimes get absolute gems, and other times get stuff that really could have done with more development. Overall I’m pretty happy with the games I’ve received, even though some weren’t so great, and some are still unplayed.

      I must admit that I *still* haven’t actually played 8ME: Legends, though the rules and materials look great and I really like the original game. I’ve only played Ancient World once so far, but really enjoyed it (as did my opponent, so I’m sure we’ll get round to it again). I’m very much inclined to back anything by Ryan Laukat based on previous experience, but until he finds a way to ship to the UK at reasonable prices, I’ll probably miss most of his stuff.

      As for Agricola: yep, you’re right, it is notable by its absence, and I am slightly ashamed to admit that I still haven’t played it. One of the “biggies” that I just missed. I do have the pared down All Creatures Big & Small, though, and very much enjoy that.

      Oh, and as I’ve now pretty much finished with the construction, the saw is moving out. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
