Home > Off-Topic, Stuff on the Web > Me, wittering on about dragons and stuff, IN COLOUR!

Me, wittering on about dragons and stuff, IN COLOUR!

November 19, 2014

I came across a lovely fella called Ed Baraf when he was running a Kickstarter for a rather cool looking game about rescuing very cute aliens from an exploding planet (take a look here) earlier this year. Not long after the project finished, he started running a series of short video reviews for boardgames, intending them to be a little like the pitches that you might give to your friends at a games night when trying to persuade them to play something.

Even a nice cover pic for the video.

There’s even a nice cover pic for the video.

So this developed a little and Ed ended up inviting pretty much anyone out there who fancied a go to join in and provide a guest review for his channel. Against my better judgement, having never done this sort of thing before, I put myself forward and, a little to my surprise, Ed accepted my offer and sent me a load of really helpful advice on recording my video.

And so, as of today, I am a YouTube game reviewer of sorts. You can now go and see my review of Tsuro and hopefully see some of why I like the game so much. While you are there, I would strongly recommend looking at some of the other reviews on Ed’s review playlist, which includes some really illustrious company amongst the guests (boy do I feel out of my depth!). The reviews are mostly between two and five minutes and are a great way to get a feel for what people like about the games being covered.

Categories: Off-Topic, Stuff on the Web Tags: ,
  1. Barnetto
    November 20, 2014 at 10:21 am

    Brave man! And nice to see that shelf full of games behind you (some of which I wasn’t aware had been released yet….. [redacted])?!

    You did look just a tad scared of the camera – but, then again, if it had been me, I would have turned and fled as soon as it started rolling! Top marks for pushing on and providing an interesting review of a game I’ve never played – I do have (but haven’t played) Cable Car, which I think has a similar sought of gameplay (tile laying path).

    There were two space alien games on Kickstarter around the time of “Lift Off” – I ended up backing the other, “Asking for Trobils”.

  2. Rob
    November 20, 2014 at 10:39 am

    Thanks!

    Yeah, [Redacted] and Town Center were part of this year’s assault on Essen by Ludicreations (who, from past experience, make good games and are excellent at making good on Kickstarter commitments), and I received them as Kickstarter rewards. I haven’t had a chance to play [Redacted] yet, but it looks very good.

    I had a bit of an enthusiastic (and expensive) spell on Kickstarter earlier this year, and got those two Ludicreations games along with Lift Off and Asking for Trobils. I’ve calmed down a bit now but still have several games yet to arrive. I think I’ve pretty much managed to break the KS habit now though.

    I don’t know Cable Car, but it looks like (from a quick look at BGG) there are similarities with Tsuro. I like tile laying games in general as they tend to have large parts of the game being very visual and intuitive, which is great when teaching newbies: you just place the tiles where they seem to make sense and you can instantly see how the board has changed.

  3. Barnetto
    November 20, 2014 at 10:58 am

    Me too! Looking back I seem to have backed 17 games during 2014 (some only microgames!) which is somewhat over the top! But the last one was in August, so I feel I may be “clean” now!

    I’m pretty much only allowing myself to buy expansions for the time being – though having said that I did get Machi Koro this week – but that is the first new game (apart from recent Kickstarter deliveries like Waggle Dance and Shipwrights of the North Sea) that I have actually purchased recently. Still waiting for 11 of those Kickstarters though!

    BTW very jealous that you manage to get workmates to play at lunchtime – that is a real bonus!

  4. Rob
    November 20, 2014 at 11:48 am

    I only generally get to do lunchtime gaming one day a week, but it is great that it happens. We mostly play lightweight and quick games so we can usually get a few plays in. Apart from Tsuro, popular games include Loot, No Thanks!, Mascarade, Heimlich & Co, and most recently Piece o’ Cake. We used to play a lot of The Resistance: Avalon, but the appetite for that has waned for now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
