Home > Stuff on the Web > Defence against the Things That Go Bump in the Night

Defence against the Things That Go Bump in the Night

June 5, 2014

As you have probably noticed, I’ve been getting a bit into Kickstarter over the last couple of years, and that has caused a few dents in the wallet, but has yielded some good games (one or two disappointments) and a load of waiting for stuff. Anyway, the latest thing I have stumbled across is an exceptionally cute card and dice game called Bedtime Heroes, which has the added advantage (for me) of being a UK-based project, though they will also be shipping from the USA if it all goes through.

Image stolen from the Bedtime Heroes Kickstarter page.  Are these cute monsters or what?

Image stolen from the Bedtime Heroes Kickstarter page. Are these cute monsters or what?

Basically the game is about using heroic toys to protect a dreaming child from monsters that appear from the cupboard or under the bed. You defeat monsters by rolling dice and being lucky, but can modify die die rolls by using the toys that you have acquired along the way. You get those toys by buying them in a “closed-fist” type auction, in which you spend chocolate coins. Don’t worry, the chocolate coins don’t go in your fist — they’d melt — you use cards for the secret bidding. That’s about it. I was a bit concerned when I saw the time range of 15 to 60 minutes — that seems ludicrously variable — but I think this range is because you can control the length of the game by varying the number of monsters that need defeating.

Edit: Steve, the game’s creator, has just sent me a message to say the 60 minutes would be exceptionally rare, so he’ll change the description to a more plausible 15 to 30 minutes.

The whole thing looks lightweight, quick, fun, and almost overwhelmingly cute, with artwork that has the monsters looking kinda menacing but also a little cuddly. I’m definitely happy to back this based on what I’ve seen. If you’re interested, there is a free print and play version of the game (with black & white line art rather than the full colour experience) linked from the project page (this is hosted on BoardGameGeek, so you’ll need an account there in order to download), or you could just grab the (very simple) rules to take a look (this isn’t on BGG, so anyone can get it).

Having watched the videos on Kickstarter, Miss B says that the game looks good and she wants to try it out, so there you go. I may get around to making the print and play set. If I do, and we play it before the campaign is over, I’ll let you know how it goes.

  1. Rich
    June 6, 2014 at 8:44 am

    This looks like fun. 🙂 Word of warning – the jpg files in the print and play version are, technically, A4 (210 x 297mm) but you’ll need to shrink them a bit before printing – otherwise you won’t quite get them on one page and you’ll end up wasting a load of paper.. 19cm wide should be about right.

    Cheers!

  2. Barnetto
    June 6, 2014 at 9:29 am

    I have this on my watch list – looks cute (cross between Monsters Inc and Toy Story!) – maybe a bit too cute for my boys – interesting to see he is getting it made in Germany – all the other Kickstarters seem to use China and that is where most of their problems seem to arise!

    I’ve pledged on too many Kickstarters recently and I’m trying to wean myself off – if for no other reason that I have no space left for new games!

  3. Rob
    June 6, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    Rich: thanks for the warning on the page size. Poor print & play planning.

    Gary: I can sympathise on the too many games thing. I’m rationalising that the game boxes improve the insulation of our house.

  4. Dan
    June 6, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    I tend to stick to UK kickstarters these days due to being reluctant to pay big postage costs so this one looks right up my alley.

  5. Rob
    June 7, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    I’m not quite sticking to UK projects but I am now massively favouring them. It’s always annoying to see a great looking game where you get a whole game for $20, but then need to add $30 for shipping outside the USA. 😦 Still, more people are starting to figure out how to get reasonably priced shipping to EU countries, so there’s more temptation…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
