Home > Games > Is it okay if I just call it Maple?

Is it okay if I just call it Maple?

October 13, 2013

Dobble is basically a super-charged game of snap where you have to do a little more cognitive gymnastics to spot the matches. The game comes with a stack of 55 circular cards, each with eight symbols on them, including things like an igloo, a pair of lips, a clover leaf, and a purple cat. What is clever is that if you take any two cards from the deck there will always be exactly one matching symbol between them. The game comes with five sets of rules to choose from, all of which are variations on trying to spot the matches between cards before your opponents.

Given that Dobble is a game played competitively in real time, it's hard to get a photo of the game in play. So here's Miss B modelling two cards with matching maple leaves.

Given that Dobble is a game played competitively in real time, it’s hard to get a photo of the game in play. So here’s Miss B modelling two cards with matching maple leaves.

We came across the game at the UK Games Expo in May, and since then Miss B has been occasionally asking me to get a copy. I’m not sure why it took me so long, but at last we now have our own Dobble set.

So far we have had several games using two different sets of rules: The Well (the first person to get rid of a pile of cards wins) and The Towering Inferno (the person to acquire the biggest pile of cards wins) and we’ve had a lot of fun with it. We really must try roping S in on a game some time. So far I have won every game (ending up with my brain hurting a bit), but it’s getting closer and it won’t be long before Miss B gets to beat me fair and square.

This is also one of those games that you don’t seem to play one game of. Each game only takes a few minutes, so it is natural to go straight on and play another right away using a different set of rules.

The verdict from Miss B (aged 6¾): “It’s a really good game especially because you don’t know what card is coming next unless you look. But that’s cheating. I’d say it’s 9 out of 10.”

The game: Dobble (Asmodee), 2 to 8 players aged 6+.

Categories: Games Tags: , , , ,
  1. October 17, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    I love this game, although I do need to give my son a fair bit of time to make the match.
    We took it on holiday with us and it kept 3 kids (7,5 & 5) amused for hours. Even the 3 year old joined in, although not sure she actually got many cards.

    A great game for a great price.

    • October 17, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Neil.

      I must admit (and I should have said this in the main post) that I do generally wait a few seconds on each card before starting to look for a match. I’m certain I won’t be able to do that for much longer.

      I think Dobble will be a standard part of the travelling kit from now on. The nice, packable tin is an advantage in this too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
