Home > Off-Topic, Stuff on the Web > Them’s Fightin’ Words

Them’s Fightin’ Words

August 24, 2013

As a quick interruption to your regular reading, I feel slightly compelled to draw your attention to a Kickstarter project that caught my eye a couple of days ago.  It’s only got a few days left to run and is looking sadly like it may not hit its goal, but as I’d really like to get a copy of the game I thought I’d do what I could to help their publicity.

Image from 7/5 Games

Image from 7/5 Games

Anyhoo, remember those list memorising games you played in the car as a kid?  You know, you say something like, “I went on holiday and I packed a toothbrush.” Then your sister says, “I went on holiday and I packed a toothbrush and a swimming costume.”  And the game continues with the list getting longer and harder to remember.

Them’s Fightin’ Words is basically that same game transported into the wild west, based on hurling ever more convoluted insults (“You low-down, lily-livered son of a dirty, lollygaggin’ rattlesnake.”) and given some cards. I have no affinity to these guys. As I say, I just really like the look of this (along with its predecessor, Jazz the Singing Game), so please take a look and see if it’s something you want to back. It certainly made me smile, particularly after watching the promo video.

Only a few days to see if they reach goal…

  1. Dan
    August 25, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    I have a similar game in my collection, but with numbers and the odd question to …well…distract you. This one looks a bit more fun but I’m a little wary of kickstarter games – prefering others to be early adopters and wait for the mass market version if it’s good enough.

    • August 25, 2013 at 11:09 pm

      I think wariness in definitely merited for Kickstarter. Once in a while, though, I’ll give it a go. I’ve been lucky so far: a few delays, no really duff products (maybe one slightly weak), and only one project still running late (I have reason to be confident that it’ll be OK though — eventually).

      This project seems to be limping towards the finish line, though, so hopefully I’ll be able to report on it a little while down the line.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
