Home > Games > Do you have a prince for my frog spell?

Do you have a prince for my frog spell?

August 13, 2013

Continuing my spell of catching up on recently introduced games we finally come to Frog Juice, another one of those cute card games from Gamewright. Seriously those people at Gamewright should be given medals: while there are some weaker parts of the range, they still manage to put out some pretty decent games which are head and shoulders above the run-of-the-mill stuff that is usually peddled as kids’ games, and (and here is the really great bit) they are available in mainstream toy shops. These guys rock.

Not needed for a spell, but maybe take the unicorn anyway...?

Not needed for a spell, but maybe take the unicorn anyway…?

Anyway, Frog Juice is a game about collecting magical ingredients, casting spells and doing sums. Due to the mathematical element I would compare it to Sleeping Queens, but here the sums are a bit more integrated into the theme as they are about trading spell ingredients (the value of ingredients on one side of a trade must add up to the value of the card on the other side). Frog Juice is also a little more complicated than Sleeping Queens, but the only time this game us trouble was on the first play, and the issue we had was on Miss B’s understanding of the scoring.

All in all this was a good find for us. I don’t think it runs quite as smoothly as Sleeping Queens, but seems a little more interesting and looks set for plenty more plays. I’m looking forward to trying it with more than two players some time as that could get nicely chaotic.

The verdict from Miss B (aged 6½): “I think that Frog Juice is a pretty weird game because of the powers, spells, witches and cats.  I think it’s got to be a 10 out of 10, but the first time I played it I got really annoyed so then I would have given it a 7.”

The game: Frog Juice (Gamewright), 2 to 4 players aged 8+.

