Home > Games > Over here, little guy…

Over here, little guy…

June 23, 2013

I must admit that when I first heard of Gubs, I thought it looked cute, but didn’t think it would be a hit in our house as it is a lightweight card game with loads of chaotic attacking other players, stealing or destroying their resources. Boy was I wrong. The description I’ve just given is about right but the “take that!” aspect of the game turned out to not be a problem.

Throwing spears at gubs is not a good way to make friends, young lady!

Throwing spears at gubs is not a good way to make friends, young lady!

This game is basically about trying to have the most gubs (cute little bug-like critters) under your control at the end of the game. This involves playing gub cards in front of you, protecting them with barricades (like mushrooms), luring your opponents’ gubs to your side with shiny things or trapping them in soap bubbles or with shiny rings (which they feel compelled to hold on to), or use a number of dirty tricks to tip the balance in your favour.

One disadvantage of the game is that there is a fair bit of text on some of the cards and you need to figure out how and when to play them. Miss B was soon taking this in her stride, though, and revelling in wiping out my barricades and luring my poor, hapless gubs over to her side.

Gubs is really a very chaotic game, with massive swings happening in play, occasionally due to random events that you really can’t do much about and which could mean that you lose all your cards and have to miss your turn. But, you know what?, we don’t care. There have been a couple of occasions when Miss B’s lower lip has quivered at the way things have gone, but that has never lasted more than a moment and often another turnaround has happened soon afterwards. She keeps coming back for more and over the last couple of weeks this has been, by some margin, our most played game.

The verdict from Miss B (aged nearly 6½): “Gubs is 10 out of 10 or 15 out of 15.  It is one of my favourite games now.  I like the cricket song and how lures, super lures and traps work.  I also like the speech marks on the cards.”

The game: Gubs (Gamewright), 2 to 6 players aged 10+.

  1. Dan
    June 25, 2013 at 5:51 am

    I have this on the iphone after downloading it on a whim – I couldn’t quite get my head round it, but suspect that’s due to a combination of a poor app and my own idiocy.

    Nice to know it plays a bit better in real life

    • June 25, 2013 at 8:45 am

      Thanks for the comment.

      To be honest, while Gubs is fun for a quick, round-the-table scrap, I wouldn’t have thought it would be great as an app. It’s one of those games that is all about the faces people pull when you superlure all their gubs that had been nicely hidden behind barricades, and then they of and trap them all with rings by way of revenge.

      It’s good to know what games make good apps and which don’t. Hey, That’s My Fish! is one of the best I’ve seen so far (though very limited experience).

  2. Dan
    June 25, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    Yes, we play Hey thats my fish as an app. In fact I caught my daughter playing it during down time from an actual real life game (I wasn’t too pleased).

    Our best experience of a app is the ticket to ride one. We’ve played that during meals out and had a great time.

  3. June 25, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    Love that story about the downtime play!

    I’d heard good things about the TtR app. Unfortunately I only have a little Android phone, and I *think* it is iOS only. Maybe one day I’ll get an iPad. I think I’d have to stop spending all this money on analogue games first, though. 🙂

  4. Barnetto
    July 4, 2013 at 9:26 am

    Well that’s a whole new world of gaming – Agricola is fantastic, Kingdom Builder, San Juan and Alien Frontiers very good, Small World is good fun and, if you like deckbuilders then Ascension is a wonderfully converted game on ios. And there is so much more… even Dino Hunt Dice is decent (for a free app) for the children to kill time in a restaurant etc.

    I agree that Gubs is not a great game as an app however – nothing wrong with the app itself, just doesn’t work so well as an ios game for the reasons you suggest.

  5. July 4, 2013 at 10:30 am

    Having some of those big games on an iPad sounds a great way to have a very portable games collection. Maybe one day…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
