Home > Stuff on the Web > …And a robot partridge in a pear tree

…And a robot partridge in a pear tree

June 17, 2013

I have a Kindle e-reader, on which I have a number of “dip in” books that I occasionally read a chapter or two from. A recent addition to this selection is Tabletop: Analog Game Design, which is a collection of essays on the design of board games. The book is available for free online or as a PDF download, or on various e-readers for a small charge at their respective shops. I believe a dead-tree version is even available. I’m only about half way through so far and am finding it very interesting, though some chapters are very much better than others.

For me, though, one of the stand-out chapters is 15 Games in 15 Years by Stone Librande. This is an epic tale of a geek dad, who made a simple game for his young son one Christmas, then did another one the next year, and then… Well, as the title suggests, as of the time of writing, this has gone on for fifteen years and covers the growth of two kids. The story goes on quite a long time, but I loved reading about the trials and tribulations, successes and failures, and all round ingenuity and geek daddery being displayed.

