Home > Games > When was antibiotics? Can you give me a clue?

When was antibiotics? Can you give me a clue?

February 28, 2013

I think it’s fair to say that playing a trivia game with a six-year-old is probably not really cricket. You really can’t expect her to know when the first antibiotic was discovered (to be fair, though, I don’t know either), but she requested we played Timeline, so why not?

So we have the theory of evolution before the first skyscraper.  That's a freebie for you.

So we have the theory of evolution before the first skyscraper. That’s a freebie for you.

This is actually quite a sweet little trivia game. You get a heap of cards with a title (something that was discovered, invented, built, etc.) and an illustration on one side, and on the other it’s the same apart from the addition of a date (the year that thing was discovered, invented, built, etc.). You have a few cards and the aim is to get rid of your cards by taking it in turns to add them to the right position in a growing timeline of cards in the middle of the table, flipping the card to see if you were right. If you are wrong you get another card.

With Miss B, we’ve been playing that she gets a couple fewer cards than the adults, and I’ll give her a hint of a couple of places I think the card might go (along with the caveat that I may be completely wrong). Armed with that information, she has demonstrated an unnerving instinct for this game and has won three of the four games we have played so far as a result!

I’m astounded that that Timeline has proven so popular with Miss B. I suppose from her point of view it’s a guessing game and we get to talk about the things that crop up on the cards, so it’s interesting from that point of view.

The verdict from Miss B (aged 6): “I liked it better this time because even though I didn’t know it that well I did it right at the end. The best thing about the game is some of the time when I get it wrong I might even get a card that I know where to put.”

The game: Timeline (Asmodee), 2 to 8 players aged 8+.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 1, 2013 at 7:36 pm
Comments are closed.
