Home > Games, Musings > Now with added farmers…

Now with added farmers…

June 11, 2012

We’ve been talking about this around here for some time now, but after earlier in the weekend when Miss B whipped me once again at no-farmers-no-nastiness-Carcassonne, I suggested that we try it with the full rules, although still using a no-nastiness convention (basically meaning that I’m not trying to contest points or playing tiles that would cause scupperage, as I might in adult company).  Miss B was well up for this, so I explained the way farmers work and we got on with it.

In case you don’t know, farmers are easily the most complicated part of the basic set of Carcassonne.  They stay in play once placed (and can’t be recovered like other followers) and only score at the end of the game in a way that can be difficult to predict and requires rather more planning than relying on cloisters, roads and cities for scoring.  I tried to advise Miss B on sensible use of farmers, but as usual she made her own choices, which resulted in two farmers being put into play by her, one of which scored nothing.

By the end of the game I had lapped Miss B on the scoring track, but she didn’t seem to have a problem with this.  I suggested that maybe next time we play, we go back to our old way of playing, but she said that she preferred the game with farmers even though she lost.  Wow, I’m so proud of her for that.  I think next time I’ll give her the option of which rules to play.

Now I come to think of it though, I think she was remembering an earlier conversation where I’d said that there isn’t any point in playing with the River tiles if we have no farmers.  She’s rather taken with the idea of the River, so I reckon she’s just working towards being allowed to add in an expansion.  Cunning.

Categories: Games, Musings Tags:
  1. Alq
    June 11, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    And you should rightly be proud of her! I love this blog so much for what you’re doing with Miss B – it’s a fantastic example of amazing parenting, and I’d love more people to read it and perhaps learn from it.

  2. June 11, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Thanks. I think there are a few readers out there other than you and S — though only a few! ;o)

  3. Nicnac
    June 14, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    I read! I just don’t comment much because I’m overwhelmed by the awesome.

  4. June 15, 2012 at 9:29 am

    😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
