Home > Games > My meeple can do cartwheels

My meeple can do cartwheels

May 6, 2012

Carcassonne is another one of those Eurogame classics that pretty much everyone likes, though I have only played it a few times. With this game, the rules are so straightforward that it’s difficult to simplify, though possibly the most complicated part of the basic game involves the scoring of farmers, so we just did away with that and only had knights, thieves and monks to play with.

Miss B got the hang of tile placement right away, perhaps because the rule is effectively “put it anywhere it looks right”.  The game also lends itself well to a “let’s just start and I’ll explain as we go along” approach.  After we had played half a dozen or so turns, B asked me, “Are we playing the game now?”

The scoring also went well and soon she was playing a pretty respectable game with little guidance from me. In fact, she went into a strong early lead which she maintained throughout the game until I finally managed to scrape a draw in the final tally.

The verdict from Miss B (aged 5¼): “I liked it because I wanted you to win and I wanted to win so I liked that we had a draw… I liked everything the best.”

The game: Carcassonne (Rio Grande/Hans Im Glueck), 2 to 5 players aged 8+.

