Home > Games > No, poppet, it’s a merchant ship, not a battleship!

No, poppet, it’s a merchant ship, not a battleship!

July 7, 2011

Everyone likes pirates, right? So Loot, a pirate themed card game looks to be a winner. With Miss B armed with her new card holder (more on that another time, I’m sure) I dealt out the cards, explained the basics of the rules and we were off.

This is a really simple trick-taking sort of game, where you pile pirate ships onto merchant ships until you have the strongest attackers, at which point you capture the ship and take the gold.  Challenges involve playing the right colour pirates at the right time, and counting up the number of skulls on the pirate ships to determine the strength of an attack.  Oh, and playing the Admiral at the right time.  All of these were overcome and after a couple of plays, B is playing confidently without much help.

So far we have only played this as a two-player game and it is proving a lot of fun for Miss B, and pretty OK for me — the pattern of play tends to involve a few battles, then a few turns of drawing cards, then a couple more battles, and so on.  I suspect that with another player or two this would liven up a lot as you would have more choices each turn.  I’ll see if we can rope Mummy in some time.  It’s also worth knowing that we use the full rule set when we play, so I think the 10+ recommended age is rather over the top.

We have definitely established a firm favourite here, though, and I suspect Loot will stay at the top of the games pile for some time.  I’m actually looking forward to playing this with some rum swigging adults one of these days too…

The verdict from Miss B (aged 4½): “That’s really really good, but I don’t think I like the pirate captains.”  A couple of plays later and she has changed her mind on the captains, which make the game much more exciting, apparently.

The game: Loot (Gamewright), 2 to 8 players, age 10+.

