Home > Musings > Monotony

Monotony

April 28, 2011

I just thought I’d share one of the inspirations for starting this whole gaming project. I’ve not read much Gronk but the strip below was embedded a couple of months back in a GeekDad post about Monopoly and how it really isn’t what we should let people believe is a standard by which to measure board games. Well, maybe it is, but not in a good way. Anyway, I think the strip pretty much says it all…

We don’t have a copy of Monopoly in the house, and if I was to acquire one it would only be because it was free or ludicrously cheap, and it would then be plundered for spare parts (houses, money, etc.) to be used for other purposes.

That said, I did have fun playing Monopoly once, but that was largely because everyone was drinking heavily and it was a Welsh language version, so those of us who were mere Anglophones were having much fun with our poor pronunciation.

