Home > Games > It’s OK, I didn’t want the spider. You can have it.

It’s OK, I didn’t want the spider. You can have it.

April 28, 2011

There are many labyrinth games out there, all based on the clever sliding tiles that make up a constantly changing maze in which you hunt for treasure. Ours is called Master Labyrinth, although I understand another version with the same name and a dragon came out a few years back. Sadly ours doesn’t have a dragon.

We simplified the game by not using the magic wands or shopping lists.  Instead we just raced to collect the items in the scheduled order and then counted up who had the most at the end.  Each turn we discussed if Miss B could see a way to get her piece to the next bit of “treasure” and if she could think of a good way to change the maze.  I’d then suggest one or two moves and leave her to it — she usually took the advice, and did well out of it, soon claiming the first couple of treasures.

One of the flaws with this game is that if the tiles aren’t perfectly lined up, they can get jammed when you try to slide them, but after initially not wanting me to help, Miss B finally allowed me to assist by straightening things out while she pushed.

We did have a bit of an issue arising later when I picked up a treasure that Miss B wanted: “Waahhh! But I wanted to get the worm.”  We paused for a little while and discussed winning and losing, and how the nature of games involves not always getting what you want.  She quickly calmed down and agreed that it was OK for me to get some of the treasures. From then on, however, we had some slightly over-the-top celebrations every time she found a treasure, dancing around the room singing, “Yippety yay! Yippety yay!”

Verdict from Miss B (aged 4¼): “I did like it but it’s much more boring than the other one.” (Meaning Enchanted Forest.) I had a feeling that this might have been a tricky game to play, but it went far better than I had expected, so yippety yay for that! We’ll probably pull this out again in a few more months.

The game: Master Labyrinth (Ravensburger), 2 to 4 players, age 10+.

  1. SnapDragon
    April 29, 2011 at 6:17 am

    I am loving these game trials/reviews.
    Would it be possible, after a few more games, that you could write a rank list of the more toddler friendly games? I would really like to start mini-snap on some boardgames, once we get her past the need to win every game..

  2. Sam Emmett
    April 29, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Glad to see this being played, it is a good game.

  3. April 29, 2011 at 9:57 am

    I guess somewhere down the line I can put together a list of games that both B and I like.

    Fancy adding some thoughts on games yourself, Sam?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
