Home > Games > Run, rabbit, run!

Run, rabbit, run!

February 6, 2013

A few days back we had a lovely day of gaming with friends, with a total of five adults and five kids.  The afternoon saw several games get played, including one that I had been wanting to play for some time, Dixit.

A can't remember what the clue was for this lot, but there was a great deal of pondering to do.

A can’t remember what the clue was for this lot, but there was a great deal of pondering to do.

Dixit is a lovely, visual game that needs at least three people to make it worth playing.  The idea is that one person chooses a card from a selection of beautiful illustrations in his or her hand and gives some sort of clue to describe it.  The other players choose one of their own cards that, hopefully, could match that clue, and then everyone tries to guess which of the shuffled and revealed cards was the original choice.  People who guess correctly get points, as do people who have their card chosen; however, the first player gets nothing if everyone chooses their card.

Now, this last point is the key one when playing with many youngsters as at Miss B’s age they can tend to be very literal.  Hence we had a point when Miss B had a card with lots of letters of the alphabet on it, so her clue was “alphabet”, which was rather obvious when the cards were revealed.  This could get a bit frustrating, but luckily the game is enchanting enough (and relatively quick) that it remained fun throughout.

I’m definitely sold on Dixit now.  It’s kind of a more visual and more creative version of Apples to Apples, so I’ll definitely be getting hold of a copy for those social gaming moments.  There are a couple of variant starter sets available, so I am planning to buy a different version to the one our friends own.

The verdict from Miss B (aged 6): “I think it’s 10 out of 10. It was quite hard because the first time I did it I chose my own one because I didn’t understand properly. I liked the rabbits racing. I wonder what we’re going to get.”

The game: Dixit (Asmodee), 3 to 6 players aged 8+.

  1. Ian
    March 5, 2013 at 1:40 pm | #1

    Just been catching up on the blogginess so I know what to anticipate gameswise for the weekend approaching.
    I love Dixit. Not for the winning though. The delight is finding the most bizarrely obscure reasoning for an image, and then see if anyone has even the remotest inkling as to why that was the clue you gave. My favourite was the clue “Friday stole my cigarettes” which was supposed to identify the picture of a crying clown……it made sense to me anyway!
    Keep up the good work sir and madam!

    • March 5, 2013 at 1:53 pm | #2

      Thanks. Yep, Dixit is all about the experience. Though I was talking with someone at the weekend who didn’t like the potential meta aspects of the game, like when you give a clue that you know is an in-joke with one person at the table. Still, we definitely need to play this game some more…

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

